Exercise 1.3 (1) Line

Take a number of shots using lines to create a sense of depth.

These were taken at the park and on the canal tow-path. I still find it hard to work in auto mode on the camera, it’s frustrating to see all those blown highlights that don’t have to be blown, and my camera tends to over-expose on auto mode.

It was interesting to look for lines in the surroundings, I am sure I missed loads even though I filled all the remaining space on the memory cards. I was intrigued by how you can still get a sense of depth from a series of broken horizontal lines as well as from a continuous lines receding into the background. I learned from this exercise much more about how the eye is led through an image depending on how the image has been composed. I also learned that lines, points and curves often go together.

Leave a Reply

