Draft images for Square Mile (peer review)

The plan is to show my daughter’s square mile. It is larger than a mile and includes childhood landmarks as well as geographic ones. It comprises her favourite places and shows her in each of them. I have 12 images at the moment but would love to make this a stronger tighter set, 9 would be great. Constructive comments on how to strengthen the set welcomed. NOTE – peer review was received both in the comments below and via the OCA Level 1 Photography Group Facebook page.

Adding in some alternatives. The first three are crops of existing images following peer review , the fourth is another alternative scooter shot.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Draft images for Square Mile (peer review)

  1. Anne Bryson July 19, 2016 / 3:35 pm

    Hi Kate, what an active girl you have, how do you keep up with her?

    My favourites are:

    2087 – Green ball
    2146 – Piano
    2447 – School? It looks a little bit posed but she has a pensive look which I liked
    2447 – Martial arts. I really like this although I felt that she could do with being a little further right so that you didn’t have so much empty space, also I’d have liked to see a bit more of the guys in the background
    3075 – Climbing wall. This is probably my favourite from the set
    3224 – Frisbee, another favourite. My eye goes back and forth between your daughter and the frisbee
    3195 – Cinema. I love that cheeky grin, surely she isnt going to eat all that popcorn by herself!
    2655 – Paint and wellies. Another really good detail shot, my only reservation is that it is another one with feet/shoes
    3112 – Birthday cake, another strong shot, I like the little chap looking up at her.

    Not so keen on:

    2217 – Flags. This confused me slightly, what was her involvement here? Is it what goes on in the court? Then I spotted her scooter.
    2278 – Choir. For me this is the weakest shot, possibly because the lighing is difficult and I felt that she was too central. That said, I quite liked the people walking past behind her whilst she was singing
    3206 – Lego – I felt that this was very posed looking and she was too central in the frame.

    This is a really interesting set of images and you have a great eye for detail. I hate to think of the positions you had to get into to take some of them though! Good luck with them. Anne x

    Like

    • Kate July 19, 2016 / 5:35 pm

      Anne, thank you so much for such a detailed and helpful comment. Just to follow up on some of your points, starting with yes, she is crazily active which thankfully is an antidote to her other passions for you-tube and tv!
      3182 (your first 2447 “school?” is actually in the corridor at the leisure centre, it’s an amazingly anonymous space viewed from that angle. You can just see the swimming pool area at the end of the corridor.
      2447 – I was unsure about including this one as the composition isn’t right. I’m going to see if I can reshoot it this Friday, or possibly at her Wednesday class this week. The Friday class has the better light and fewer people…
      3075 – yes, unsurprisingly there was plenty of choice from climbing wall shots!
      3195 – she did share the popcorn with her friend! Cinema is such a big thing for her I had to include it!
      2665 and 3112 – I really like both of these, however they do stray a little close to the Instagram genre of images that I was trying to avoid. I think I will try swapping the piano feet for piano hands and see where it goes from there.
      2217 – this was taken from the school playground, the flags went up for the Queen’s Birthday and have not been taken down yet. If it’s not carrying its context without a caption I’m not sure about including it, I could swap it for a scooter/shadow image or just leave it out.
      2278 – I do have an alternate shot that I can use, of her pretending to conduct from the rostrum.
      3206 Lego – Yes, all my comic shop shots were posed! I’m curious about exploring posed portraiture but will need to get my composition skills sharpened. I do have an alternate shot (another hard choice) of her behind the counter.
      Thanks again, very much appreciated. They weren’t too bad a set to take, apart from the grilling from the Cineworld employee about how much I could be fined if I even took my camera out of my bag in the theatre (oddly he was less concerned about mobile phones).

      Like

  2. Catherine July 19, 2016 / 4:49 pm

    Inspired idea – all her spaces. The ones that have most interest for me are 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10. I’m interested to know which ones your daughter would choose compared with your final choice.

    Like

    • Kate July 19, 2016 / 5:55 pm

      Thank you Catherine. It felt quite obvious once I’d thought of it (as these things do, I suppose) and certainly it was nice to take a different tack this time. I think I’m of the same mind re the images that sit less well in the set. I’ve added in a couple of possible alternate shots for 2 and 11. Thanks for the idea of getting B to make a selection too! I will follow that up and post about it.

      Like

  3. Richard Brown July 20, 2016 / 9:51 am

    Just to awkward i like the centralised images and I also like the feet images so for me it would be 1,2,4,5,8,9,10,11,14 & 15, Maybe reshoot (if possible) 10 & 15 so her size in the frame is smaller in line with 4.5 & 8 but no biggie, and maybe close in on the scooter shot (but i like the shadow!)

    Like

    • Kate July 20, 2016 / 3:24 pm

      That’s an interesting set of comment and plenty to think about, thank you Richard. I might be able to reshoot 10, B would certainly be up for it, not quite so sure about the cinema staff! We’re bowling on Friday morning so that might present an opportunity or two. Sadly I can’t reshoot 15, that was from a shot at a neighbouring school which is now finished for the summer. I like the shadow one too, there was one that was even better but it has a tiny shadow from somewhere else and I would have to clone it out, which I don’t think we’re meant to do for this assignment.

      Like

  4. dawn54 July 20, 2016 / 9:22 pm

    I really like the idea behind these, a great concept for Square Mile. I am particularly drawn to the images where her hands or feet are focal points (excepting the piano which has a different tone) they say something about her energy and activity.

    Like

    • Kate July 21, 2016 / 8:44 am

      Thank you very much Dawn. The piano foot will go I think, to be replaced by the other piano one perhaps. It was the end of year school party last night and that’s thrown up a couple of possibles

      Like

Leave a Reply

