Exercise 2.6 Shallow depth of field

Please note that these exercises are going up out of order because it’s the summer holidays and shooting opportunities are a little less controlled than normal.

I started doing the shallow dof series with my 18-135mm zoom, but changed to my 50mm prime because at the longer zoom reaches I couldn’t get an aperture below f5.6. My 50mm prime can be opened up to f1.8 so I used that. All shots are in AV mode with ISO100. Processing is lens profile correction, auto toning and removing blown highlights. Images are of wishes and offerings in a clump of beech trees. Here are my selects.

exercise 2.6 shallow dof
Shallow depth of field, f1.8 ISO100.

Here are contact sheets of all images taken for this exercise.

Part 2 Imaginative spaces-1

 

 

Part 2 Imaginative spaces-2

Part 2 Imaginative spaces-3

2 thoughts on “Exercise 2.6 Shallow depth of field

  1. Lottie August 20, 2016 / 7:15 pm

    Well done for squeezing in your learning in amongst all your other commitments.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kate August 20, 2016 / 9:17 pm

      I think the summer holidays are my least favourite time for studying. Last year I learned that I can’t get the focus and undistracted concentration needed for assignments; this year I have learned that the time is good for reading and exercises, but that tutors are also less available…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

