Exercise 2.4

“Find a location with good light for a portrait shot. Place your subject some distance in front of a simple background and select a wide aperture together with a moderately long focal length such as 100mm on a 35mm full-frame camera (about 65mm on a cropped-frame camera). Take a viewpoint about one and a half metres from your subject, allowing you to compose a headshot comfortably within the frame. Focus on the eyes and take the shot.
Longer focal lengths appear to compress space, giving a shallower depth of acceptable sharpness, which is known as depth of field. This makes a short or medium telephoto lens perfect for portraiture: the slight compression of the features appears attractive while the shallow depth of field adds intensity to the eyes and ‘lifts’ the  subject from the background.”

I felt as if I was getting back into my technical comfort zone here. I used a 50mm prime lens as it works better in lower light (supports wider apertures) and the aperture that I chose remains constant in AV mode. I wanted this light because it picked up the honey tones from the walls and worked well with Clare’s colouring, hair and outfit. If I was to take it again I would drop the ISO and use a tripod, probably taking the aperture to 2.8 rather than the 1.8 I used here.

ex2.4 portrait good light-4587

Leave a Reply

