Assignment 2 – feedback (updated)

Click on the link below to open the feedback pdf. I am very happy with it, and with the clear steers that I have for developing the work. I found my first Skype feedback to be something of a revelation with far more immediacy and possibility of interaction than is possible by a completely written communication cycle, and the PDF file provides a welcome summary and clarification of improvements that I can make. Updated 13/12, see italicised text below. Updated 12/1 see blue italicised text below. Updated 5/9 bold italicised text below.

kate_aston_513940_assignment_2_feedback

I am thrilled with the feedback that I received and the clear pointers for developing the concept further and improving the assignment for assessment. I feel as if I’m getting to grips with the need to research firmly and broadly, to consider the presentation of the work from an early stage, and to have a clear idea of where I want to take the work next. I am happy that my feedback identified all of these as successful, as well as the actual work itself.

Points that I will take away for development:

  • Trying out edits of only children or only adults (they are different, it will be interesting to see how). 5/9 I did this and decided on a child only edit for assessment. The adult edit was also strong, but different, and I have put it aside for future exploration in C&N.
  • Trying to find a way of including more images of other peoples work on my blog without feeling in breach of copyright. I normally link to other work, with the link set to open in the background, but there remains a risk of the reader being diverted away from my blog. update – 13 /12 – still struggling with this. I am setting all my links so they open in a separate window, in the background, so they don’t disrupt the reading experience. I’m also trying out putting all the links at the end of the blogpost.

27/3 – I’ve found a way to embed my Pinterest boards into blog posts so that you can see thumbnails.

  • Moving on to explore the theme physically, ie working with layered images, die-cut images and images cut into different shapes such as ovals (like miniatures). 13/12 – scheduled a session with an artist friend to kick this off. I have started this work but have moved it to other types of image for the moment – ie cheaper 4×6 High St prints and some £2 photobooth portraits. You can see some of the work with cutting and embossing under the Riffs & Impro menu tab on my blog. I think the way to work on this one with photobooth images is to find some more suitable die shapes, many of mine are too busy for the simplicity of a passport photo. 5/9 this was actually the foundation of A5 which is tampered Polaroids.
  • Continue taking risks in my work. Yes, I am working on a personal photobooth project (so personal and sensitive that it’s not yet online). I feel as if I am pushing at the edges of what is socially acceptable/tasteful, but equally it’s documenting a universal experience, and one that I hope the universality of the photobooth format will help to render accessible.

Changes that I will make for the reworked version

  • Removing the details cards from the album (I am happy to do this on my tutor’s advice)
  • Not including any handwriting in the rework
  • Using the title “Smile, it might never happen” for the album (this may involve sourcing a new album as the one I used didn’t allow enough characters for a longer title). – note, if I get a larger Paperchase album I can use a longer title and also try out a different incremental way of showing the prints.
  • I could also try larger prints – the photobooth style portrait that only gives a single large image. The downside of this is that it looks more like a normal print and loses the point of the photobooth image. I think the action here is to take my daughter and the smile back to the photobooth and take some test images in different formats to see how they work.
  • Possibly presented a child-only edit (see above). – yes, I have tested layouts and this is possible, though I will need extra sets for some of the children
  • I think I may reshoot for the rework, but over a period of time.
  • I posted a question on the OCA Discussion board about whether I should remake this from scratch with new prints and a new album, or whether I can cannibalise the first submission for parts. An interesting discussion ensued (click here, accessible to OCA only, opens in new tab). I think to change the album title I will need to order a new album, but I would quite like to re-use some of the original photobooth prints. As it’s not a digital submission I don’t have the option of reprinting from file.

Reading/follow-up

I am still working my way through a collection of essays suggested in my A1 feedback which is proving very inspiring. I will also work through and document this list of suggestions from A2 feedback:

  • Wiebke Leister – her continued interest in non-likeness and representations if faciality 13/12 See here – http://www.photographyresearchcentre.co.uk/what-we-do/fieldstudies/fieldstudy-11-lovers-liars-laughter-wiebke-leister I like the scale here, the faces are shown so large that we can’t see all of them, so large that we can’t identify the people. I need to find more about her and her work, I haven’t found a personal website yet.
  • “Dawn Woolley – your use of the 2d ‘smile prop’ made me think of Dawn’s use of the 2d.” This is inspiring work and more than a little strange. http://dawnwoolley.com/ http://www.trendhunter.com/trends/dawn-woolley composite two dimensional work, you can see the edges; in a 3D context. It reminded me a bit of what I did in Exercise 3.8 Rephotographing on the Foundations course with combining a Barbie, photos of a Barbie, Barbie’s clothes and photos of Barbie’s clothes. There is also a video by Dawn at the OCA Photography Matters symposium  which I have some notes on here .
  • Model releases – AOP and Seeing the Light – yes I have found a model release form on the RPS website and have followed my tutor’s advice to simplify and customise it for each shoot.
  • Angela McRobbie’s The Aftermath of Feminism – her discussion of fashion photography and the models poses will be of particular interest to you. – found and ordered. Now reading – it is compelling reading, and although not a photography book it is definitely informing my perspective which will feed through to my work. I haven’t found many women of my age who agree with the popular (mis)conception that feminism is no longer needed, wanted or welcome.
  • Anne Burns The Carceral Net blog – selfie hating memes. https://thecarceralnet.wordpress.com/  I keep getting lost in this blog and forgetting to write about it. It’s a fascinating view on selfies and how they are viewed that keeps making me think. Anne Burns also has a thesis online https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6jKibz6KmhGZ1pxQi1IbEtacU0/view 
    “SELFIE CONTROL
    Online Discussion of Women’s Photographic Practices as
    a Gendered Form of Social Discipline”. Her writing has really made me reconsider selfies, especially as I read further into Angela McRobbie. It’s interesting that self-portraits as a genre seem to be more widely respected than self-portraits that are #tagged #selfie I was also intrigued by the emergence of the #girlfie hashtag on Instagram – these images, viewed as a whole, have a different feel to them to the equivalent #selfie images.

One thought on “Assignment 2 – feedback (updated)

  1. Catherine November 11, 2016 / 8:04 pm

    Good to read the feedback. I think this method is the best of two worlds – to be able to interact with your tutor, albeit by video link, and then to have the written summary.

    Like

Leave a Reply

