A4 draft for peer review

I put these images on the OCA Critiques for review. Link is here for OCA students and staff. The thread covers from initial attempts onwards. As it is a closed forum I am not reproducing replies here.

I am including the same set of draft images here and would value comments. Thank you. I have chosen the brief “The beauty of artificial light”.

 

Following Simon’s comment below, here is the unedited version of the ceiling shot to show the colours as the camera captured them. I desaturated the yellow and orange channels and made small adjustments to the tone curve to return the colours to closer to how I saw them inside the phone box.

testset2alt ceiling-6232

 

 

10 thoughts on “A4 draft for peer review

  1. nuala513668 March 7, 2017 / 9:28 am

    These are lovely. I like the way the colour pinkish/red runs through ten. Only one I am unsure about is the one in the middle. Why? Not sure – maybe it is a little too representational. Great work

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kate March 7, 2017 / 9:33 am

      Nuala, thankyou for commenting, that’s very much appreciated. I’m curious about how you view the one in the middle, I took it because I liked the splashes of paint on the glass and the moss colony. For me, that red is one of the defining characteristics of the phone box. I’m going to be thinking hard about “too representational” 🙂 really interesting, thank you.

      Like

  2. Simon Chirgwin March 7, 2017 / 10:27 am

    I think the one in the middle is great – the line of really mossy moss is green enough to set off the reddishness of the rest of the picture with the light shining through rather than on. I do have two quibbles though: – first – why is there only one black and white image? on its own, it suggests that there was something wrong with its colour original and that destauration was the only way to save it; second – given how much of it is about colour and light, would it have been possible to take some other pictures where the light is a different colour temperature (a wider shot of the booth say, with sodium light picking out the background), bringing out that aspect (not containing the full visible colour spectrum) of unnatural light?

    Nice set though!

    Like

    • Kate March 7, 2017 / 10:59 am

      Hi Simon, thank you very much for looking and commenting. I’m very encouraged by the diversity of comments. There aren’t any black and white images in the set – the one of the ceiling is pretty much as it appeared, the only changes that I made were to deepen the blacks slightly and lift the highlights very slightly on the tone curve as the white balance rendered it slightly beige. I might have lowered the yellows slightly, will have a look. I’ve checked, and have added the original image to the blog post with the changes made. I desaturated the yellow channel significantly and the orange channel slightly to return the colours to how I remembered them. I liked how the light separated out the paint flakes that had fallen and caught in cobwebs. I’ll add the original version in another reply.
      I started out taking wider some wider images, as you say they can look great with the wider range of lights, and there are car lights, street lights, neon etc to choose from. I found though that as I added more from outside the box I was dealing with more distractions – phone boxes seem to attract wheelie-bins, litter bins, post boxes, and I could no longer keep the pure focus that I wanted on the phone box and the way it lights itself. I did see a great A4 post on another blog that had phone boxes and bus stops in a wider view, will see if I can find the link. Link here. Thank you again for your helpful comments, it’s always helpful to see how others see my work.

      Like

  3. Wendy Rose March 7, 2017 / 6:41 pm

    I really like this set, it has a feeling of neglect, decay and abandonment which is in contrast to the fact that this ( I presume) is a fully working phone both. I can almost picture and hear the light flickering with the flies trapped inside , a real sense of mood.
    The fact that the world is technically advancing is demonstrated by the way the phone box is almost cast aside.

    Like

    • Kate March 7, 2017 / 7:05 pm

      Thank you Wendy, it’s great to read how everyone interprets these images. The images were taken across 4 fully functional phoneboxes, it was hard to find one phonebox that offered enough creative possibilities. I did only use fully functional boxes though. I had a wasted trip last night with one box that was in perfect condition but with no phone, and another that had a jammed door so I couldn’t get it (and was sited on a surprisingly busy bus stop). I’m surprised by the attachment I have for them, considering that I haven’t used one in decades.

      Like

  4. Catherine March 7, 2017 / 7:27 pm

    I think you’ve done very well to find functioning telephone boxes – can’t recall seeing even any non-functioning ones where I live.
    The set holds so well together with the complementary colour tones. Reminds me of all the times I used to spend hanging-on! Also the the smell of the phone boxes. Really good touch as well focusing on the smaller details.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kate March 8, 2017 / 6:29 am

      Thank you Catherine. I used paper OS maps to find out where the boxes are. This part of Wiltshire is a network of tiny villages and small towns, mobile coverage is patchy and there are many protected areas so there were a good number of boxes for me to work with. Once I started reccying them I could see that not all were suitable, this set includes four boxes from three different villages/towns, though I have photographed more and visited more still.
      I am happy with the colours. I think working after dark was the best way to make a unified set, as all the other distractions are minimised and the light becomes more apparent. I’m happy that the set brought back memories.

      Like

  5. Holly Woodward March 9, 2017 / 12:01 pm

    The colours are beautiful, Kate, and I love the abstract vibe. My suggestion would be to shuffle them round a bit to try out different orders. As you have laid them out above, the horizontal lines in 6 and 9 are a bit overpowering, and a different order might help with that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kate March 9, 2017 / 9:32 pm

      Hi Holly, thank you for commenting. I agree with your comment about the layout, I’ve just done a new blog post with a slightly different layout which I’m happier with. I wanted to keep the sequence of outside the box then inside the box then outside again so there was limited scope for movement, but it’s definitely better. I’m glad you like the colours and the abstract feel.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

