Die-cutting an accidentally exposed Instax print

Following my initial experiments with normal photographic prints and Polaroids from my Polaroid 600 I decided to spend a spare few minutes putting a blank Instax through the die-cutting machine to see what happened. This one was accidentally exposed about two weeks ago when I thought that the film had run out and opened the camera, so it developed as plain white.

When it came out the black back of the print had turned to shades of a gothic iridescent plum, with little bubbles of liquid visible. I loved this effect. I had chosen an oval die to mimic miniatures and lockets. When I flipped the cut-out over it looked like an egg.

Next up is doing this again with actual images, both newly developed and older, to see what happens.

egg instax

WP_20170314_14_22_58_Pro

 

 

Leave a Reply

