Exercise 4.2 – a sequence of shots of a single subject over one day

This exercise was a challenge for me. Logistically it was a challenge as some days can be all over the place and weekends I lie in… and the longer I procrastinated the harder it got as sunrise was getting earlier and earlier. Eventually I decided to photograph my car boot as that’s normally within easy access and I thought it might be interesting to document a day via the tidal contents of the boot. Our car boots tend to be slightly more private spaces than the cabin of the car, and they are mobile so I think it’s interesting to look at the stuff that we choose to transport with us day in day out. Then I opened the boot at 6:30 one morning and remembered just how much crap is in there… I couldn’t bear any more procrastination though so just cracked on. I have done barely anything in terms of processing, regarding this as primarily a technical learning opportunity, and fixing blown highlights or lost shadow detail in an exercise designed to make me look at light seemed counter-productive. I think you can tell that by 13:30 I was starting to lose my will to live, I only took one image and it was not a good one. Despite it not being the most interesting exercise I have put it on my ideas list as I think car boot still lifes could be worth developing.

I used my wide angle lens all day. I took the lazy option and ramped up the ISO in lower light rather than getting the tripod (hence the rather casual focus in some shots). The boot does have a small automatic courtesy light, which is why the hi-vis jacket has blown highlights in so many images. I removed the parcel-shelf after the first three hours because it was casting too much shadow. The first three shots are fairly bland in light terms – it was down to how I set the camera to get enough light for the image. Things get more interesting from 9:30 onwards, when the shadows start to appear, they gradually moved to the right through the day. I liked the depth of the shadows, as they deepened I could see the colours changing depending on whether they were in the shadows or the light. The boot was facing due south and you can see how much stronger the midday sun is, the light is fairly harsh and the shadows very strong and deep too. I like the mix of texture at 12:32, the way the light emphasises both the smooth surfaces and the textured ones. 15:24 was taken a few miles away, at my daughter’s piano lesson. I like how the mainly white bag acts as a reflector and kicks back the light. My favourite is the last image at 18:34 which somehow captures the blue light we’re getting between sunset and the actual dark. I like how the colours glow in this one, the shadows are soft and also tinged with blue and the screen wash looks almost magical.

7 thoughts on “Exercise 4.2 – a sequence of shots of a single subject over one day

  1. Catherine March 16, 2017 / 8:14 pm

    Yes – I’ve often thought of asking if I can take photographs in people’s attics/lofts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kate March 18, 2017 / 9:58 pm

      Yes! Or garages 🙂 thank you for reading and commenting.

      Like

  2. Chas Bedford March 19, 2017 / 9:36 am

    Gold star for concept and originality – but is there anywhere in that boot where it would fit?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kate March 19, 2017 / 9:52 am

      Probably not! I’m happy that a decent concept came out of a pretty ropey set of images though 🙂 Thank you for reading and commenting.

      Like

  3. Lottie March 25, 2017 / 5:04 pm

    I like watching the light tracing over the objects making time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kate March 26, 2017 / 7:29 pm

      Yes, I liked the simple way the shadows tracked from left to right through the day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

