Reflection against assessment criteria

A4 self-review

Once again I feel as if it’s my technical skills holding me back.  Composition and focus are two I need to pay more mind too. I’m happy with how I realised the work, it did what I wanted and didn’t look like a generic set of phone boxes in villages. It felt like a set and I’m happy with that, the colours and the light were consistent.

I am happy with the way my creative skills are developing, I’m learning to explore ideas with test shoots and just to keep on exploring until I find an area that works for me.

For context I took a slightly different approach on research, based on the feeling that I already had enough, and the curiousity as to how my work would turn out when it was informed by curiousity rather than scrabbling down the back of the internet. In a way this feels slightly as if I didn’t do enough… but I don’t know… what else would I have added?

6 thoughts on “Reflection against assessment criteria

  1. Catherine March 29, 2017 / 12:47 pm

    I think your’e putting yourself down here Kate. You took a creative risk in terms of the research. Maybe look at it in a different way – if you had the time to research further now; or have done so; is there anything you missed that would have improved your Assignment?

    Like

    • Kate March 29, 2017 / 12:50 pm

      Thanks Catherine. I did look at the table afterwards and wondered if I’d been a bit harsh. I’m not sure if I would have researched differently to be honest, I like the shape that the work took with the influences I had. I do think I could have improved a couple of photographs.

      Like

      • Catherine March 29, 2017 / 12:53 pm

        That’s better! How would you improve the photographs and can you re-take as a follow-up?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kate March 29, 2017 / 12:55 pm

        Thank you. One needs to be retaken more squarely-on, for sure. I can re-take as follow up, I will just need a dark and wet evening.

        Like

  2. Chas Bedford April 1, 2017 / 8:37 pm

    I like your approach of marking-up the assessment table (I’m not sure I would be brave enough)

    Similarly curiosity-based development rather than ‘researching’ assignments to death. It is good to know what other photographers are up to, and how they solved problems, but I don’t feel the need to ‘get permission’ by finding somebody else who has done the same thing I want to do.

    Like

    • Kate April 1, 2017 / 8:57 pm

      Hi Chas, thanks for reading and commenting. I mark up the table because I’m largely fed up with writing by this point. It might just be me but part 4 feels as if it’s had rather a lot of reflection/self-analysis. I agree with you on not “getting permission”. On the pregnancy test assignment (decisive moment) the research really helped me to find the context for my own work. For this one, it felt less needed. I’m not sure which path I’ll take on A5 yet. Actually I’m not sure which subject I’ll do for A5 yet so there’s no point putting the cart before the horse.

      Like

Leave a Reply

