Exercise 5.1 “the distance between us”

I chose to use a painting by Clare Brooks for this exercise. It’s the little details that entrance me, and the use of multiple dimensions. I photographed with my 100mm and 50mm prime lenses. I photographed the front, sides and back of the painting.

Here’s the contact sheet.

contact sheet

I used ISO200 and an open aperture, I wanted to isolate detail rather than give a full reproduction. It was interesting to see the canvas as the camera sees it. My selects are #6683 – even though it is slightly out of focus I like the Lichtenstein feel that it gets from the texture of the canvas, the bold lines and the colour of the eyes.  Secondly, #6692, which came out as an abstraction of line and colour. I’ve no idea what the tiny object is that’s casting the shadow, I liked how it appeared from nowhere in the photograph.

Leave a Reply

