Discovery on Torus

Investigating Mobius strips, which have a feminist connection via Elizabeth Grosz (Volatile Bodies) who used a concept originally articulated by Lacan, a psychologist. He based his ideas on topography, the relationship between the inside and the outside of a person. This led me to the Torus. I’m not sure on the Lacan interpretation other than it continues to be about insides and outsides, but I know that it’s an object made by the rotation of a sphere about a coplanar axis, essentially a hollow doughnut shape with a hole in the middle, or an inner tube. I looked it up in Bing Images, chose ‘Related images’ and this is where things start to get a little weird…

A2 lacan torus screen grab

Look at what happens – we go from the original modelled geometric shape to a roll of blue tape, to a cushion, to a fitness band to a rubber ring…. I know that this will be because of algorithms that look for other images that are similar… but what, if anything, do these objects say about self? What, if anything, do they say about Lacan and his theories?

The takeout for me on this reading is that my work on inside/outside is a long way from done. When I started thinking about altering instant prints for A5 one of my thoughts was that it didn’t allow a feminist perspective in the same way that some of my other assignments did. I suppose it depends what the prints are of. My tutor led me to the Mobius strip and Elizabeth Grosz during A4 feedback and suddenly I have a link. Exciting! It’s certainly given me a very clear steer on rework for A2.

Two thoughts to follow up.

Jane Corbett’s work that I saw in Marlborough – is this based on a Torus? The idea of a torus as a metaphor for self, stabbed with pins, is an interesting one.

janecorbett-6667

My second thought is once again the work of Julie Cockburn (link is to my write-up on her exhibition) who altered images, put the altered image into reverse image search and put the object that Google offered into exhibition next to her altered work. I find this amazingly intriguing, it says so much about recognition, and how algorithms will change how the world is shown online and what it is presented as.

cockburn-tpg

2 thoughts on “Discovery on Torus

  1. Catherine April 17, 2017 / 11:30 am

    This is really weird, but I woke up this morning thinking about skin and how it contains us, holds everything in. This links, for me, with that work of Jane Corbett – does stabbing asking with pins (and similar actions) release something which is tightly bound within us?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kate April 17, 2017 / 12:43 pm

      Yes. Does it heal, like acupuncture? There is so much here for me that I’m not sure where to start. Probably with more reading, I suspect. Hopefully I can explore this further on whatever I do next. As always, thank you for your thoughtful comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

