Self assessment

I’m still a bit stunned that A5 is finished. It seems to have been here for ages, we’d got used to each other’s company. It’s over, but I’m not finished.

What went well?

I feel as if my technical skills are improving, though this has not necessarily been the project to showcase them. Exercise 5.2 was a watershed moment, and I am happy with the jpgs of the Polaroid backs. I’m even reasonably happy with the picture side of the polaroids, they worked well in black and white and carry the mood of early photography. I’m happy with the work creatively too. I tried absolutely everything that occurred to me, some ideas worked, some didn’t, but I feel as if I explored it from the inside out, and extensively (not completely, there is always more). It feels like my work too.

What didn’t go so well?

Decisions! Well the easy ones were fine. This is going to sound like an ungrateful complaint but sometimes it felt like I could barely keep up with my ideas, which is probably a good thing as it took me to some interesting creative spaces, but I do wonder which bit of my brain is in charge sometimes. I’m aware of a lack of polish on the physical work too. One of the acrylic blocks didn’t clean up too well after I decided against the emulsion lift on it… I should have bought a spare. I could have done with more polaroids too, as I used quite a few testing out techniques and making test books. Contact sheets caught me out, I should have photographed them as I went.

What would I do differently?

Everything identified above. I want to continue developing this work, the next step is photographing emulsion lifts in water to show motion, both sides, and the light through the image.

review against assessment criteria

6 thoughts on “Self assessment

  1. Catherine June 11, 2017 / 2:23 pm

    This has been a fascinating project for me to follow all the way through and I’ve admired the way you’ve let yourself be led by your urge to create something different. I think maybe you’re being a bit too hard on yourself

    Like

    • Kate June 11, 2017 / 8:07 pm

      Thank you Catherine. I am never sure where to pitch the assessment, and I always “finish” assignments with a mental list of what I still want to do!

      Like

  2. Doug Bell June 11, 2017 / 7:25 pm

    Looking at your self assessment I tend to agree with Catherine that you are being too hard on yourself. It will be interesting to see what your tutor says and eventually your assessment. My guess is that it will be well above average, and if I were closer I would wager a beer (or something) on it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kate June 11, 2017 / 8:10 pm

      Thank you Doug, for reading and commenting. You may well be right, I still feel as if there’s more to do and I am very conscious of being right at the start of the degree with a long way to go, and I hope a lot of growth and refinement to come! I’m sure we can sort a beer via paypal if you wish! Assessement will be in November.

      Like

  3. Stephanie Dh. June 14, 2017 / 5:10 pm

    I completely agree with Catherine’s and Doug’s comments above, your self-assessment is not adequate to the quality of your work and your engagement with this course.
    There will always be room for growth and refinement as the expectations are going to be higher with each level, don’t worry! But you can really be pleased with what you made of this course. It is clear that you have a methodology that work, a drive, a playfulness and stubbornness and it shows in the result.
    I sincerely think that this drive and pleasure is what is the most important creatively (I would rather give away my camera than my enthusiasm for photography!).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kate June 16, 2017 / 7:32 pm

      Stephanie, thank you. I think the self-assessment is one of the hardest parts for me. It’s reassuring that the expectations get higher with the levels! Yes, sometimes I wonder what I could do with better kit, but really a difference of a few thousand pixels or 2-3 fps faster is largely irrelevant to me. I love that I wake up wanting to make work, and the course allows me to do so.

      Like

Leave a Reply

