A5 scanning Polaroids

One of my tutor’s suggestions for reworking A5 was to look at alternate camera technologies such as scanners and old digital cameras. As my old digital camera seems to have been thrown out, I investigated scanning on our basic HP inkjet.

It’s definitely a promising approach in that it gives me something in between the sheer physicality of the Polaroid and the modernity of the macro shots taken with my DSLR . Unlike the Polaroid, it’s digital so I can use it in other ways. I’m thinking more about a photobook, with a modern photo on one half of the spread and a scan on the other, probably offset, possibly with the two images both relating to the same original Polaroid. I could attach an actual Polaroid inside the front or back covers, using either Velcro dots or transparent cd wallets, to allow the photographs to be removed and handled.

On the scanned Polaroids I like the inverted images – it ties in with Fox Talbot’s invention of the negative. More to follow…

2 thoughts on “A5 scanning Polaroids

  1. Sarah Andrews July 18, 2017 / 7:23 pm

    This looks really interesting. I like the idea of a photo book with the immediacy of the comparison between the image and scan. Having the Polaroid touch adds another sensual dimension. I like this. There is real value to touch I think and the reminiscence of handling ‘real photographs’

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kate July 18, 2017 / 7:29 pm

      Hi Sarah, thank you for commenting 🙂 I’m still going round in circles on this, I need to not throw the kitchen sink at it but still make something that does what I want it to. I don’t know if just the sight of a Polaroid is enough to evoke the memory of touch in the fingertips…. I did make a Polaroid album for my tutor, but the one I have at home is not holding up very well as the ring that closes it is not holding its spring very well. Anyway, thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

